16th Blues Blast Music Award Winners

The winners were announced at the Blues Blast Music Awards ceremonies on September 23, 2023.  More than 6,600 Blues Blast Magazine readers and Blues fans voted in the 2023 Blues Blast Music Awards.


Contemporary Blues Album

Taj Mahal – Savoy

Traditional Blues Album

John Primer – Hard Times

Soul Blues Album

Annika Chambers & Paul DesLauriers – Good Trouble

Rock Blues Album

Mike Zito & Albert Castiglia – Blood Brothers

Acoustic Blues Album

Charlie Musselwhite – Mississippi Son

Live Blues Album

John Primer – Teardrops for Magic Slim

Historical Or Vintage Recording

Bob Corritore & Friends – Women in Blues Showcase

New Artist Debut Album

Lady J Huston – Groove Me Baby

Blues Band

Cash Box Kings

Male Blues Artist

Taj Mahal

Female Blues Artist

Shemekia Copeland

Sean Costello Rising Star Award

Dylan Triplett

Producer Of The Year

Mike Zito

Electric Guitarist Of the Year

Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Acoustic Guitarist of the Year

Rory Block

Slide Guitarist of the Year

Sonny Landreth

Bass Guitarist of the Year

Bob Stroger

Keyboard Player of the Year

Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne

Percussionist of the Year

Kenny “Beedy Eyes” Smith

Harmonica Player of the Year

Charlie Musselwhite

Horn Player of the Year

Vanessa Collier

Vocalist of the Year

Shemekia Copeland

Blues Video Of the Year

Jimmy Hall – Jump for Joy